2024 TBR…(Kind of)

For 2024, I’ve decided I’m doing a TBR without picking out specific books to read. I’ve noticed that my reading tastes can change over the course of a year, and so I’m testing out a different kind of TBR. A quest, if you will, complete with some side quests I’d like to achieve.

This is my main quest: essentially, to read some classics, read some completed series, and explore some new authors I haven’t read yet. I own most of the books in the list in some format or other, so in a way it’s also a challenge to read the books I already own!

2 Classics

  • Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
  • Jane Eyre (Charlotte Brontë)
  • Wuthering Heights (Emily Brontë)
  • Rebecca (Daphne du Maurier)
  • Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy)
  • War and Peace (Leo Tolstoy)
  • The Parable of the Sower (Octavia Butler)
  • The Secret History (Donna Tartt)

I started to read some classics in 2023 (including my first Jane Austen novel!) and I’d like to continue that trend. I am also including some modern classics in my definition of “classics”. (Also, I’m not limiting myself to the things on this list, these are just some I own that would qualify!)

2 Authors I Haven’t Read

  • Emily St. John Mendel
  • Silvia Moreno Garcia
  • Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Emily Henry
  • Abby Jimenez
  • R.F. Kuang

Along with classics, I’d like to explore some new-to-me authors that have become quite popular in recent years. I own books from all the authors listed above (sometimes three or more) so I figure it’s time to dive into someone new!

2 Completed Series I’ve Started 

  • Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom
  • The Blood Trials/The Blood Gift
  • The Eternal Ones (Deathless Trilogy #3)
  • The Atlas Complex (The Atlas Trilogy #3)

It turns out I’m okay at starting series, but never getting around to finishing them, hence this prompt! For both Six of Crows and the Blood Trials I also need to re-read the first installment in the series (as I have forgotten much of what happened). The other two trilogies on this list (Deathless and Atlas) have final installments that come out in Q1 of this year, and so I decided that it could count for this prompt.

2 Completed Series I’ve Not Started

  • The Broken Earth Trilogy (N.K. Jeminson)
  • The Shepherd King Duology (Rachel Gillig)
  • Strange the Dreamer Duology (Laini Taylor)
  • A Darker Shade of Magic (V.E. Schwab)
  • Chilling Effect Trilogy (Valerie Valdes)

Similar to the one above, except that I’ve never even started these series. I own all of these series but have not yet read a single book – so it’s time to change that.

2 Books in a Long Series

  • Path of Daggers (Wheel of Time #8)
  • Winter’s Heart (Wheel of Time #9)
  • Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time #10)

While some duologies or trilogies I believe I can finish this year, there is a huge series I’ve started that I, in all certainty, will not complete this year: The Wheel of Time. On average, I’ve been consuming about two books every year, and so I’d like to continue that trend this year, even I don’t outright finish the series.

2 Other Owned, Unread

  • Gideon the Ninth (Tamsyn Muir)
  • The Nesting (C.J. Cooke)
  • The Hidden (Melanie Golding)
  • Red, White, & Royal Blue (Casey McQuiston)
  • A Gentleman in Moscow (Amor Towles)
  • I Must Betray You (Ruta Sepetys)

Because I like nice numbers, I had to add an extra prompt to get to 12. Therefore, here’s my catch-all prompt. Some of the books in this list are standalones that I’d like to read, or authors I’ve read from before. This is the list that I’m most likely to jump ship on and choose something completely random – as one would expect with a catch-all prompt.

Are you on Storygraph and want to join this challenge? Here’s the link to join me: https://app.thestorygraph.com/reading_challenges/f1721ad4-ef6b-4efc-b0be-6393ce2a31c6

Diversity Across Genres 2024

I would consider this one my highest priority side quest of the bunch. I have a goal to increase my BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) reads this year, and was originally going to try to do a blanket 24 BIPOC books in 2024. Then, I discovered a “Diversity Across Genres” challenge, which not only strives to cover various identities but various genres within them. I have a feeling I’m not going to complete the entire challenge (reading 5 Nonfiction books is a tall order for me no matter what) but I like the idea of striving for it. And if all else fails, hopefully I’ll still hit 24 BIPOC reads in general.
Are you on Storygraph and want to join? Here’s the link to join me: https://app.thestorygraph.com/reading_challenges/6fd543ae-7deb-4996-a279-a6f33f026d09

Complete a Kindle Quarterly Challenge

I feel like I might be late to the party on this one, but I just discovered that Amazon has a quarterly reading challenge that you can complete with reading books specifically on your Kindle. And fun fact: e-books checked out from the library and read on your kindle count towards your progress on the challenge! Ideally I’d overlap a good chunk of books from this challenge with the next one…

Kick the Kindle Challenge

This one is all about reading books that you already own the e-book version of and actually reading them. This contains 10 different prompts for various challenges, and is a nice incentive for me to pick up my Kindle to read.
Are you on Storygraph and want to join? Here’s the link to join me: https://app.thestorygraph.com/reading_challenges/7e2e9993-994e-456e-8838-da0d012bd53a

Read a Book for an IRL book club

This one I just think is a fun one! I have a local bookstore near me (Shout-out to Sidetrack Books!) that runs a book club every month. I already own both a February and a May pick, so hopefully I’ll knock this out early in the year!

10 Books Longer than 500 Pages

Since I read a lot of short books last year, I want to read some more longer books in 2024! I’m defining books longer than 500 pages as long books, but I’m also giving myself a rounding error (If a book has above 490 pages, I’m counting it, since I’m sure *some* version has 500 pages). There’s no prompts for this one, just read 10 longer books!
Are you on Storygraph and want to join? Here’s the link to join me: https://app.thestorygraph.com/reading_challenges/ca8791b5-1565-4bb5-af5e-0083697a3ae8

Classics by the Decades

This goes hand-in-hand with my “read more classics” prompt from my main quest above – but put on steroids. This is to read a classic from every decade from 1810s to the first decade of the 2000s. This way not only am I being encouraged to read 20 classics, but to read 20 classics from different time periods, hopefully getting a well-rounded experience along the way.
Are you on Storygraph and want to join? Here’s the link to join me: https://app.thestorygraph.com/reading_challenges/51183918-77d5-41e9-a48e-68447d2861d3

January Pages Challenge – 2024

I *just* signed up for this challenge before finishing this blog post. Essentially the goal is to read at least a page every day – and to update Storygraph with it. And Storygraph is giving away prizes to all those who complete the challenge!
Are you on Storygraph and want to join? Here’s the link to join me: https://app.thestorygraph.com/january_pages_challenges/8f8c8f43-fc1e-4a94-ba39-6de4b80df452

Leave a comment